The Kingdom of Bahrain has signed an agreement to procure Raytheon’s PATRIOT air and missile defence system, thereby becoming the 17th nation to operate the combat-proven missile system, the company announced on 13 August.

The pertinent letters of offer and acceptance, which note that Bahrain is obtaining the systems from the US Army, now allow Raytheon to begin negotiations for an undisclosed number of systems and missiles.

Raytheon's PATRIOT Integrated Air and Missile Defense System will ensure the Kingdom of Bahrain is well equipped to defend against ballistic missiles, cruise missiles, and manned and unmanned aircraft […] PATRIOT is continually modernised, enhanced and upgraded, through this 17-nation community, to ensure it outpaces the evolving threats for years to come,” commented Raytheon Integrated Defense Systems’ President, Ralph Acaba.

The 17 PATRIOT nations are: Bahrain, Germany, Greece, Israel, Japan, Korea, Kuwait, the Netherlands, Poland, Qatar, Romania, Saudi Arabia, Spain, Sweden, Taiwan, the United Arab Emirates and the United States.

Bahrain becomes the 17th nation to field the integrated PATRIOT air and missile defence system. (Photo: Raytheon)

- Mönch Publications - Latest Issues -

We use cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

I agreeMore Information